• Overview• Conference Reception• Papers• Tutorials• Invited Speakers• Masterworks• Panels• Posters• Workshops• Birds-of-a-Feather• Doctoral Showcase• Awards• Gordon Bell Prize• Disruptive Technologies• Challenges• Technology Thrusts

the ACM Gordon Bell Prize

The ACM Gordon Bell Prize has been awarded since 1987 to recognize outstanding achievement in high-performance computing. It is now administered by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), with financial support for the stipend (currently $10,000) provided by Gordon Bell, a pioneer in high-performance and parallel computing.

The purpose of the prize is to track the progress of leading-edge technical computing, namely simulation, modeling and large-scale data analysis as applied to science, engineering or other fields. Recent winners have been awarded for landmark computations at performance rates that have in some cases topped 100 Tflop/s. In addition to the main ACM Gordon Bell Prize, the Bell Prize Committee may, at its discretion, grant a special award to recognize an achievement in a related area such as price/performance, usage of innovative techniques or non-traditional types of computation.

The SC08 conference is proud to present the finalists of the 2008 Gordon Bell competition in two special Technical Program sessions. The finalists are:

  • Multi-teraflops Simulations of Disorder Effects on the Transition Temperature of the High Tc Superconducting Cuprates” by Gonzalo Alvarez and a team from Oak Ridge National Laboratory and Cray Inc.
  • “0.374 Pflop/s Trillion-particle Particle-in-cell Modeling of Laser Plasma Interactions on Roadrunner" by Kevin J. Bowers and a team from Los Alamos National Laboratory.
  • “Scalable adaptive Mantle Convection Simulation on Petascale Supercomputers” by Carsten Burstedde and a team from University of Texas at Austin, California Institute of Technology, and University of Colorado
  • “High-frequency Simulations of Global Seismic Wave Propagation using SPECFEM3D_GLOBE on 62K Processors” by Laura Carrington and a team from University of California, San Diego and University of Pau
  • “350-450 Tflops Molecular Dynamics Simulations on the Roadrunner General-purpose Heterogeneous Supercomputer” by Sriram Swaminarayan and a team from Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • “Linear Scaling Divide-and-conquer Electronic Structure Calculations for Thousand Atom Nanostructures” by Lin-Wang Wang and a team from Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

See the link at the top of this page for a searchable list of the Gordon Bell Finalists.

The Gordon Bell prizes will be announced at the conference awards ceremony on Thursday afternoon at 1:30pm.

Previous Gordon Bell Winners

2007: http://sc07.supercomputing.org/html/GordonBellPrize.html
2006: http://sc06.supercomputing.org/news/press_release.php?id=14
2005: http://sc05.supercomp.org/news/press_releases_11172005.php
2004: http://www.sc-conference.org/sc2004/awards.html
2003: http://www.supercomp.org/sc2003/nr_finalaward.html
2002: http://www.supercomp.org/sc2002/news_nrp_conclude.html
2001: http://www.sc2001.org/PR-20011115.shtml
2000: http://www.sc2000.org/awards/index.htm
1987-1999: http://www.sc2000.org/bell/pastawrd.htm
   IEEE Computer Society  /  ACM     2 0   Y E A R S   -   U N L E A S H I N G   T H E   P O W E R   O F   H P C