Nominations for IEEE's 2008 Fernbach, Cray Award Due July 1
Prestigious achievement awards to be announced at SC08 in November

AUSTIN, Texas - Nominations for the 2008 Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award and the Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award are now being accepted, with a final submission deadline of Tuesday, July 1, 2008.

These awards, sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society, will be presented during the SC2008 conference on high performance computing, networking storage and analysis to be held Nov. 15-21 in Austin.

The Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award is given to individuals whose innovative contributions to high performance computing systems best exemplify the creative spirit demonstrated by Seymour Cray. The award consists of a crystal memento, certificate, and honorarium of $10,000.

The Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award was established in 1992 in memory of Sidney Fernbach, one of the pioneers in the development and application of high performance computers for the solution of large computational problems. A certificate and $2,000 are awarded for outstanding contributions in the application of high performance computers using innovative approaches.

Links to nomination forms and submission information for both awards can be found at In addition to information about the nominee, nominations for either award require two to five endorsements, which must also be submitted by July 1.

About SC08
SC08, sponsored by ACM and IEEE Computer Society, will showcase how high-performance computing, networking, storage and analysis lead to advances in research, education and commerce. This premiere international conference includes technical and education programs, workshops, tutorials, an exhibit area, demonstrations and hands-on learning. For more information, please visit
# # #